Powerful Reading

March 7, 2008 at 8:49 am 1 comment

During seminary, I read Thomas Merton’s autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain, and I really enjoyed it. Last week I checked out Sue Monk Kidd’s book, Firstlight: The Early Inspirational Writings, from the local library. Apparently Merton had a big influence on her life and writing, so it inspired me to buy more of Merton’s works. I had just sold a few books on Amazon.com, so I ordered two of his books with my earnings: New Seeds of Contemplation, and Spiritual Direction & Meditation.

Wow. New Seeds of Contemplation is a book I really needed to read during this time of my life. I wouldn’t have got much out of this book if I had read it any earlier, so I’m thanking God for this providential coincidence (how’s that for a paradoxical phrase). There are times while I’ve been reading it yesterday evening and this morning that I’ve found that Merton knows me far too well! I’ll just warn you, don’t read this if you don’t have time to stop and pray.

Entry filed under: Books: Reviews and Remarks, Religion, Spirituality. Tags: , .

Joel Osteen’s Typical Week From “If Only,” to “Only Jesus.”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Andrew Conard  |  March 7, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Matt – Thanks for the recommendation. I have taken the time to add these to my Amazon Wish List, thus sating the need to purchase instantly. An interesting mix of authors – Merton and Kidd. I would not have guessed…

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Catching Photos

March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 58,467 Meddlers