BWIII & John Edwards

March 27, 2007 at 8:34 am 3 comments

Ben Witherington has an excellent post on John Edwards and the health of his wife Elizabeth. At first, I was pretty sure I was going to support Obama in the upcoming election. Yet I keep coming back to Edwards who I’ve liked and followed for a long time.

Ben briefly touches on some of the reasons he has an affinity for Edwards, and I agree on many of these points (except for the Tarheel stuff…ewww). One thing I especially like about the Edwards campaign is that he actually has a position and a plan to support rural America. In a recent speech, he noted that poverty and housing issues aren’t just urban problems,

I’ve talked a lot about housing in cities, but we shouldn’t forget that housing is a rural problem too — 1.5 million rural homes are substandard — without plumbing or with a crumbling foundation or sagging roof.

All in all, whether you agree with their politics or not, I think we can agree with Ben’s assessment. Leave John and Elizabeth alone, pray for her health, and let them pursue the path they believe to be the best for their lives.

Entry filed under: Religion.

Glory Days The Eucharist of Solomon – 1 Kings 4

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  March 31, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    I have to admit I was put off by the news that he would continue in the race after the discovery of his wife’s terminal cancer. However, after reading Ben’s post and watching the 60 Minutes segment, I’ve changed my viewpoint. My initial fears were that his wife would be in the active stages of dying while he would use the sympathy for the callousness of running for political office rather than being at her side. Now that I know more about the disease, I’m glad to hear that they’ve both decided to live their lives, however long they last, in the pursuit of their dreams. If only we all, who are in active stages of death whether we recognize it or not, would live our lives as well.

    Reply
  • 2. Nathan  |  April 5, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I’m with you Matt, he has real plans and real things to say about rural issues, poverty, and plenty else. I hope things go well for his family.

    Reply
  • 3. Ray Reavis  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    He has real things to say about rural issues, poverty, and plenty else, all right. When he’s running for office that is.

    I’m sorry, but as a native North Carolinian, I repent for being a part of providing this man with a stepping stone to national politics. Because although he promised when he ran for Senator that he was not using that race as a stepping stone, he promptly gave that seat up when he smelled the chance at a White House bid.

    As a Christian I pray for the Edwards family as they go through trying times. But my love, sympathy and compassion for them does not cloud my reason. He’s a millionare lawyer looking for his next power fix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Catching Photos

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 43,469 Meddlers

